This is a friendly, interactive exchange of information on all Real Estate related subjects. Follow on Twitter: @RETALKS

Moderator: admin

whattodo
Real Estate Talker
Topic Author

What to do NOW?

Tue Oct 27, 2015 12:37 pm

I have been reading this site for a long time. It looks like the bulls were right & the bears were wrong.

My question is what would you do now? And don't say I should have bought 10 or 15 years ago. I was a student in university & had no income back then.

I have a good size down payment & it is growing by $50,000 per year. I have a fairly good income too. It seems I have always been in a situation where I could buy a crappy small old house but i want a newer larger place. So, I kept saving and obviously house prices are increasing by a larger amount than I can save & invest. I did buy a townhouse 5 years ago to hedge my bets. I also realize that anyone who prayed for a huge price drop and who hasn't saved a huge down payment has no chance ever to buy a house in this market. Even if there was a 30% drop they are still screwed.

So, should i just get any crappy house now & hope for continued appreciation forever. Or wait & keep saving and then hopefully buy a nice place. While I am hoping for a price drop it has not happened. Even if prices would remain constant or grow slowly (2 - 3%) it would help me out since my down payment then would grow faster than prices increase.

My thoughts are easy money (low interest) and HAM are really driving up prices. NO HAM & higher rates will kill prices fast but this may never happen.

Aren't any of you bulls worries about rising interest rates. I know I am!

I already have a decision made I just want to see what others think.

eyesthebye2
Real Estate Talker

Re: What to do NOW?

Tue Oct 27, 2015 9:36 pm

where are you buying?

whattodo
Real Estate Talker
Topic Author

Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:21 pm

Most likely somewhere between Port Coquitlam & Maple Ridge. From Coquitlam westward prices are just too high.